RECOGNISING ALL VICTIMS OF NATIONAL SOCIALISM IN AUSTRIA

The National Fund was established in 1995 at the Austrian Parliament to express Austria’s special responsibility towards all victims of National Socialism. As such, it is aimed at all survivors, regardless of why they were persecuted – whether on political grounds, on grounds of origin, religion, nationality, sexual orientation, a physical or mental disability, due to accusations of “asociality”, or because they were victims of typical Nazi injustice in some other form.

Some 30,000 survivors have approached the National Fund and received a gesture payment as a symbol of recognition – 157 million euros in total. In addition to this, from 2001 onwards compensation totalling approx. 175 million euros was paid to survivors for the loss of rented apartments.

The National Fund continues to provide support for survivors in need of special assistance: in cases of financial hardship, the gesture payment can be made up to a total of three times.

Preserving the memory of the victims and their fates is a central task for the future. The National Fund keeps records of this knowledge in its archives and passes it on to future generations.

The National Fund works together with national and international organisations and remembrance and research institutions, in a combined effort to promote “learning from history” beyond Austria too.

The archives of the National Fund and General Settlement Fund are unique. They document persecution and the bureaucracy of confiscation and seizure, as well as earlier compensation and restitution measures put in place after 1945. The applicants’ personal documents provide a compelling impression of the events and their significance for the people affected and for Austria.
Clockwise from top left: The Secretary General of the National Fund Hannah Lessing at the Austrian Embassy in Washington DC in 2010; at the ceremony to mark the 20th anniversary of the National Fund at the Parliament in 2015; at the wreath-laying ceremony in Yad Vashem, Jerusalem in 2011; and in 2016 with students of the High School BG/BRG Baden at the Democracy Workshop.

© top : Parlamentsdirektion Christian Hikade. below left : Georg Schenk. below right : Karl Schrammel, Parlamentsdirektion/Thomas Jantzen/Johannes Zinner, Yad Vashem/Yitzhak Harari 

VICTIM RECOGNITION

The National Fund was established in 1995 at the Austrian Parliament to express Austria's special responsibility towards all victims of National Socialism. As such, it is aimed at all survivors, regardless of why they were persecuted – whether on political grounds, on...

PROJECT FUNDING

Project funding has been a central activity of the National Fund from the outset. It caters to all victim groups subjected to Nazi persecution. Emphasis is placed on social and medical projects for survivors.  Funding is also awarded to projects that undertake...

ART RESTITUTION

The Art Restitution Law of 1998 provided the National Fund with a legal mandate to monetize “heirless” art and cultural objects from the museums and collections owned by the Republic of Austria and use the proceeds to benefit the victims of Nazism.  In 2006 an art...

AUSTRIAN EXHIBITION AUSCHWITZ-BIRKENAU

A new Austrian exhibition is being created to go on display in Block 17 of the former concentration and extermination camp and present Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum.  The original exhibition, which was initiated and co-conceived by former inmates, opened in 1978. The...

THE RESTORATION OF JEWISH CEMETERIES FUND

The Washington Agreement also set out Austria’s international legal obligation to restore and maintain known and unknown Jewish cemeteries in Austria.  In December 2010 the enactment of the Federal Law on the Establishment of the Fund for the Restoration of the Jewish...

FINDBUCH FOR VICTIMS OF NATIONAL SOCIALISM

The Findbuch (“finding aid”) can be accessed at www.findbuch.at and enables users to search Austrian archives for material on Nazi property seizures and Austrian restitution and compensation measures. It currently contains approx. 212,000 records from the Austrian...

CLAIMS COMMITTEE COMPENSATION OF ASSETS

The General Settlement Fund for Victims of National Socialism was established in 2001 on the basis of the Washington Agreement. Its objective was to provide a comprehensive solution to open questions of compensation for losses and damages incurred by Nazi victims as a...

THE ARBITRATION PANEL FOR IN REM RESTITUTION

The Arbitration Panel for In Rem Restitution was established on the basis of the Washington Agreement of 2001 and could recommend the restitution of real estate, superstructures, and the moveable assets of Jewish communal organizations, if they had been seized between...

RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE ARBITRATION PANEL FOR IN REM RESTITUTION

In total, the Arbitration Panel granted 140 applications for in rem restitution. The overall value of the properties that the Arbitration Panel recommended for restitution is approx. 48 million euros. The above images of Vienna and Austria show the geographical...

HISTORICAL RESEARCH AT THE GENERAL SETTLEMENT FUND

The historical research carried out at the General Settlement Fund formed an indispensable basis for the legal processing of the applications. In order to ensure the equal treatment of all applicants, care was taken to ensure that the same, in part very extensive,...

DOCUMENTING LIFE STORIES

DOCUMENTING LIFE STORIESThe documentation and publication of life stories is of key importance to the National Fund of the Republic of Austria for Victims of National Socialism. In view of the current change of generations it is crucial to document these biographical...

APPLICANTS

The applicants of the National Fund and the General Settlement Fund live or lived in over 80 countries around the world. The overwhelming majority of Austrians who fled persecution in Austria during the Nazi era did not return, but remained in their countries of...

COMPENSATION OF ASSETS

The Claims Committee of the General Settlement Fund could award compensation for individual losses and damage in ten different categories. This task was incomparably more complex than other national or international compensation measures, where claims could be filed...

THE PROCEEDINGS

The General Settlement Fund operated on the basis of the following principles: to treat equal things equally and unequal things unequally in a legal sense, to apply relaxed standards of proof, to maintain the transparency of all working processes and, not least, to...

PROCEDURAL STATISTICS

The General Settlement Fund received 20,702 applications for compensation of asset losses. They related to the asset losses incurred by 37,623 persons. Compensation was awarded for 18,155 applications; 2,547 applications did not meet the requirements for compensation....

WASHINGTON AGREEMENT 2001

On 17 January 2001 representatives of the Republic of Austria, the United States of America and Nazi victims’ organisations signed the “Joint Statement” in Washington DC. This formed the basis for the “Agreement between the Austrian Federal Government and the...

DIE ANERKENNUNG ALLER OPFER DES NATIONALSOZIALISMUS IN ÖSTERREICH

Der Nationalfonds wurde 1995 beim Parlament eingerichtet, um die Verantwortung Österreichs für alle Opfer des Nationalsozialismus auszudrücken. Er richtet sich daher an alle Überlebenden, unabhängig davon, aus welchem Grund sie verfolgt wurden – aus politischen Gründen, aus Gründen der Abstammung, Religion, Nationalität, sexuellen Orientierung, aufgrund einer körperlichen oder geistigen Behinderung, aufgrund des Vorwurfs der so genannten Asozialität oder weil sie auf andere Weise Opfer typisch nationalsozialistischen Unrechts geworden sind.

Rund 30.000 Überlebende haben sich an den Nationalfonds gewandt und eine Gestezahlung als symbolische Anerkennung erhalten – in Summe rund 157 Millionen Euro. Ab 2001 wurden zudem Entschädigungen von insgesamt rund 175 Millionen Euro an Überlebende für den Verlust ihrer Mietwohnungen geleistet.

Der Nationalfonds bietet auch weiterhin Unterstützung für Überlebende, die der besonderen Hilfe bedürfen: Bei finanziellen Notlagen besteht die Möglichkeit von zwei weiteren Auszahlungen der Gestezahlung.

Das Andenken an die Opfer und ihre Schicksale zu bewahren ist eine zentrale Aufgabe für die Zukunft. In seinem Archiv erfasst der Nationalfonds das Wissen und gibt es an die nächsten Generationen weiter.

Um das Lernen aus der Geschichte auch über Österreich hinaus mitzutragen, arbeitet der Nationalfonds mit nationalen und internationalen Organisationen, Gedenk- und Forschungseinrichtungen zusammen.

Das Archiv von Nationalfonds und Allgemeinem Entschädigungsfonds ist einzigartig. Es dokumentiert Verfolgung und bürokratisch erfasste Entziehung, aber auch frühere Entschädigungs- und Rückstellungsmaßnahmen nach 1945. Persönliche Dokumente von AntragstellerInnen vermitteln einen lebendigen Eindruck von den Geschehnissen und ihrer Bedeutung für die Betroffenen und für Österreich.

Im Uhrzeigersinn von links oben: Die Generalsekretärin des Nationalfonds Hannah Lessing in der österreichischen Botschaft in Washington DC 2010, beim Festakt zu 20 Jahre Nationalfonds im Parlament 2015, bei der Kranzniederlegung in Yad Vashem, Jerusalem 2011 und 2016 mit SchülerInnen des BG/BRG Baden in der Demokratiewerkstatt.

© oben: Parlamentsdirektion Christian Hikade. unten links: Georg Schenk. unten rechts: Karl Schrammel, Parlamentsdirektion/Thomas Jantzen/Johannes Zinner, Yad Vashem/Yitzhak Harari

Opferanerkennung

Der Nationalfonds wurde 1995 beim Parlament eingerichtet, um die Verantwortung Österreichs für alle Opfer des Nationalsozialismus auszudrücken. Er richtet sich daher an alle Überlebenden, unabhängig davon, aus welchem Grund sie verfolgt wurden – aus politischen...

Projektförderungen

Seit seiner Einrichtung ist die Förderung von Projekten ein zentrales Tätigkeitsfeld des Nationalfonds. Bei den Projekten werden alle Opfergruppen des Nationalsozialismus berücksichtigt. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf sozialen und medizinischen Projekten für Überlebende....

Kunstrestitution

Der Nationalfonds erhielt 1998 durch das Kunstrückgabegesetz den Auftrag, „erblose“ Kunstobjekte aus Museen und Sammlungen des Bundes zugunsten von NS-Opfern zu verwerten. Um Opfern des NS-Kunstraubes bzw. deren Nachkommen die gezielte Suche nach entzogenen...

Ausstellung Auschwitz-Birkenau

Im Block 17 des ehemaligen Konzentrations- und Vernichtungslagers und heutigen Museums Auschwitz-Birkenau entsteht eine neue österreichische Länderausstellung. 1978 wurde die erste, von ehemaligen Häftlingen initiierte und mitkonzipierte Ausstellung eröffnet. Die...

Instandsetzung jüdischer Friedhöfe

Das Washingtoner Abkommen sah auch die völkerrechtliche Verpflichtung Österreichs zur Restaurierung und Erhaltung bekannter und unbekannter jüdischer Friedhöfe in Österreich vor. Im Dezember 2010 wurde mit der Erlassung des „Bundesgesetzes zur Errichtung des Fonds zur...

Findbuch

Das Findbuch ermöglicht unter www.findbuch.at eine Suche nach Materialien zu NS-Vermögensentziehungen und österreichischen Restitutions- und Entschädigungsmaßnahmen in österreichischen Archiven. Es beinhaltet derzeit rund 212.000 Datensätze aus dem Österreichischen...

Antragskomitee

Der Allgemeine Entschädigungsfonds für Opfer des Nationalsozialismus wurde 2001 auf Basis des Washingtoner Abkommens eingerichtet. Das Ziel war eine umfassende Lösung offener Fragen der Entschädigung von Opfern des Nationalsozialismus für Verluste und Schäden, die als...

Schiedsinstanz für Naturalrestitution

Die aufgrund des Washingtoner Abkommens 2001 beim Allgemeinen Entschädigungsfonds eingerichtete Schiedsinstanz für Naturalrestitution konnte die Rückstellung von Liegenschaften und Superädifikaten bzw. von beweglichen Vermögenswerten jüdischer...

Empfehlungen der Schiedsinstanz für Naturalrestitution

Die Schiedsinstanz für Naturalrestitution hat insgesamt 140 Anträge auf Naturalrestitution empfohlen. Der Gesamtwert der Liegenschaften, deren Rückstellung die Schiedsinstanz empfohlen hat, beläuft sich auf rund 48 Millionen Euro. Die Abbildungen von Wien und...

Historische Recherche des Allgemeinen Entschädigungsfonds

Die historische Recherche des Entschädigungsfonds war unabdingbare Grundlage für die juristische Bearbeitung der Anträge. Um die Gleichbehandlung aller AntragstellerInnen zu gewährleisten, wurde darauf geachtet, dass in jedem Fall die gleichen, teilweise umfangreichen...

Dokumentation von Lebensgeschichten

Die Dokumentation und Publikation von Lebensgeschichten ist dem Nationalfonds der Republik Österreich für Opfer des Nationalsozialismus ein großes Anliegen. Besonders angesichts des Generationenwechsels ist es umso wichtiger, diese biografischen Erinnerungen als...

AntragstellerInnen

Die AntragstellerInnen des Nationalfonds und des Allgemeinen Entschädigungsfonds leben oder lebten in über 80 Ländern der Welt. Die überwiegende Mehrheit der ÖsterreicherInnen, die vor einer Verfolgung in Österreich während der NS-Zeit geflohen waren, kehrten nicht...

Vermögensentschädigung

Das Antragskomitee des Allgemeinen Entschädigungsfonds konnte individuelle Entschädigungszahlungen für Verluste und Schäden in zehn verschiedenen Kategorien zusprechen. Diese Aufgabenstellung war im Vergleich zu anderen nationalen oder internationalen...

Verfahrensablauf

Grundprinzipien der Tätigkeit des Allgemeinen Entschädigungsfonds waren: im juristischen Sinne Gleiches gleich und Ungleiches ungleich behandeln, erleichterte Beweisstandards anwenden, die Arbeitsprozesse transparent gestalten und nicht zuletzt den AntragstellerInnen...

Verfahrensstatistik

Beim Allgemeinen Entschädigungsfonds langten 20.702 Anträge auf Vermögensentschädigung ein. Diese betrafen 37.623 Personen, deren Vermögensverluste geltend gemacht wurden. Bei 18.155 Anträgen wurde eine Entschädigung zuerkannt, bei 2.547 Anträgen nicht. Insgesamt...

Washingtoner Abkommen 2001

Am 17. Jänner 2001 unterzeichneten in Washington D.C. VertreterInnen der Republik Österreich, der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika und von NS-Opferorganisationen das „Joint Statement“. Dieses war die Grundlage für das „Abkommen zwischen der Österreichischen...